PCA Rejects China's Expansive South China Sea Claims
Oh Lee Sumin  |  smt_ohsumin@sm.ac.kr
폰트키우기 폰트줄이기 프린트하기 메일보내기 신고하기
승인 2016.09.04  14:47:31
트위터 페이스북 미투데이 네이버 구글 msn

Part of the Pacific Ocean, the South China Sea is a marginal sea encompassing an area stretching from the Singapore and Malacca Straits to the Strait of Taiwan, roughly 3,500,000 square kilometers.  It is surrounded by six countries, namely China, Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam, Brunei, and Malaysia.  The area is important as 60 percent of the world's shipping sails through its waters and it is believed to hold roughly 280 to 300 billion tons of oil and 7,500 square kilometers of gas reserves under its waters. Because of its economic and geographic benefits, the six countries that surround the South China Sea all claim sovereignty and are constantly in dispute over the body of water.  China has gathered substantial historical reasons for its right to the area and has even constructed an artificial island on the South China Sea.  Because of China's actions, the Philippines have sought legal actions since 2013 by bringing territorial issues to the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA).  Recently on July 12, 2016, the court finally came to conclusion after 3.5 years.  The Court agreed with all of the Philippines’ 15 claims.  In other words, the PCA denounced China’s right to ownership of the area as well as its constructions of an artificial island on the water.  After the PCA announcement, the United States has strongly recommended China follow the PCA’s decision, and the US has also deployed an aircraft carrier to the South China Sea.  In response, the Chinese government has ordered its troops to be put on special alert.  The heightened tension between the United States and China is a concern for all nations in the area.

Oh Lee Sumin의 다른기사 보기  
폰트키우기 폰트줄이기 프린트하기 메일보내기 신고하기
트위터 페이스북 미투데이 네이버 구글 msn 뒤로가기 위로가기
이 기사에 대한 댓글 이야기 (0)
자동등록방지용 코드를 입력하세요!   
- 200자까지 쓰실 수 있습니다. (현재 0 byte / 최대 400byte)
- 욕설등 인신공격성 글은 삭제 합니다. [운영원칙]
이 기사에 대한 댓글 이야기 (0)
The Month of the Patriots
Throughout the Country, the War Against Forest Fires
Real-Name System Should Be Imposed in Cheongpa Market
Human Between Imagination and Reality
Defining Me Through Myself
Make Society More Sustainable
Youth Makes Change
Pink Tax: It Costs More to Be a Female Consumer
A Prayer for Noble Sacrifices
One Day Without a Smartphone
숙명타임즈 소개기사제보광고문의불편신고개인정보취급방침이메일무단수집거부청소년보호정책
The Sookmyung Times is published monthly by the Sookmyung Times Office at the Student Building Room 309,
Student Union Building Room 309, 100, Cheongpa-ro 47-gil, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea, 04310. *Registration No. Ra-1783, Oct. 25, 1973
Tel : 02)710-9152   |  Fax : 02)706-2695   |  청소년보호책임자 : 김주희  |   Copyright © 2007 숙명타임즈. All rights reserved.